Tic tac toe: Day 0

I’ve been so absorbed in my programming stuff I haven’t made time for updates, but I’m doing my first actual project now and I thought it would be fun to do a thought dump at the end of each day to see how it progresses and so I can go over it and see what improvements I can make to my approach.

So, Day 0.

I spent most of the day working on a game for an earlier assignment while I waited to talk to the head instructor to get feedback on my project. I said “unbeatable tic tac toe, player vs player if the AI is too hard, and multiple difficulty levels and fancier interface if it’s too easy.” He said “ok, and look into minimax for the AI.” So I did, and it’s going to be a lot harder than just taking every case into account (which would be very doable because the total number of games for tic tac toe is is a relatively low 26,830), but it’s the right way to do it. This way will essentially assign a score to each situation and then check possible future sequences to find the best move. The AI will be much more flexible because I’ll be able to tell it how many moves ahead to search and assign different scores for different situations.

So I spent most of the afternoon learning about minimax, game theory, and of course playing some tic tac toe. Then hashed out a couple ideas for page layout and that was it. Tomorrow the code writing will start.

Leave a Reply

